Posted in Blog Tours, Thriller

The Other You – J.S Monroe

10th January 2020

About the book:

Kate used to be good at recognising people. So good, she worked for the police, identifying criminals in crowds of thousands. But six months ago, a devastating car accident led to a brain injury. Now the woman who never forgot a face can barely recognise herself in the mirror.At least she has Rob. Young, rich, handsome and successful, Rob runs a tech company on the idyllic Cornish coast. Kate met him just after her accident, and he nursed her back to health. When she’s with him, in his luxury modernist house, the nightmares of the accident fade, and she feels safe and loved.Until, one day, she looks at Rob anew. And knows, with absolute certainty, that the man before her has been replaced by an impostor.Is Rob who he says he is? Or is it all in Kate’s damaged mind?

Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was a really fast paced book despite being 490 pages! I felt like the time flew by and I was eager to know what was happening. I enjoyed it so much that I read the whole thing in one day.

It had me guessing right till the end. The short, sharp chapters meant that as soon as I formed one idea it was turned on its head. I thought the use of a potential medical issue as a way of explanation was a great idea and really had you questioning if it was all in Kate’s head.

There were also some side stories which added to the build up but that you could work out which I liked as it meant that I didn’t feel completely daft for not working out the ending!

The only thing I would have liked to have seen was more of introduction to the characters start, Kate’s job as a super recogniser sounded really interesting and the relationship with the police for and her former partner left me wanting to know more.

About the Author:

J.S. Monroe read English at Cambridge, worked as a foreign correspondent in Delhi, and was Weekend editor of the Daily Telegraph in London before becoming a full-time writer. Monroe is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller, Find Me.
J.S. Monroe:Twitter: @JSThrillersFacebook: @JSMonroe

Head of Zeus:Twitter: @HoZ_BooksFacebook: @headofzeusInstagram: @headofzeusWebsite: http://www.headofzeus.com

Posted in Blog Tours, Thriller, YA

Are You Watching – Ralph Vincent

6th January 2020

A page-turning new YA thriller for the social media age, perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and One Of Us Is Lying.T

Ten years ago, Jess’s mother was murdered by the Magpie Man.

She was the first of his victims but not the last.

Now Jess is the star of a YouTube reality series and she’s using it to catch the killer once and for all.

The whole world is watching her every move.

And so is the Magpie Man.

Review:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was a brilliant young adult thriller which I devoured in a single sitting! I liked that the use of social media in the book was to try and do something proactive and not just another teenager addicted to likes and followers.

I really enjoyed Ralph’s comments on society, this quote,

“We put our lives out there in all sorts of ways – on Instagram and Facebook and Twitter and Snapchat – but it’s always edited. We hand pick the best bits and hope the world gives a shit.”

it just completely summed up the use of social media for me. Rarely do we post pictures and updates about the all the bad things that happen in our day.

Also, the premise of day five was really clever (you will have to read to find out what I mean)

I did not guess who the Magpie Man, which for me was a bonus as I have guessed the ending to a few of the big thrillers, such as the silent patient, this year but you can tell its a YA thriller as although it kept me guessing it didn’t give me goose bumps or that chill that an adult thriller does – or maybe its just because i’m too old!

Get Are You Watching? in ebook now for only 99p https://amzn.to/34J8Qsi

Thank you to Anne Carter and Penguin for my copy in exchange for review

Posted in Blog Tours, Thriller

Who Did You Tell – Lesley Kara

It’s been 192 days, seven hours and fifteen minutes since her last drink.

Now Astrid is trying to turn her life around. Having reluctantly moved back in with her mother, in a quiet seaside town away from the temptations and painful memories of her life before, Astrid is focusing on her recovery. She’s going to meetings. Confessing her misdeeds. Making amends to those she’s wronged.

But someone knows exactly what Astrid is running from. And they won’t stop until she learns that some mistakes can’t be corrected.

Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is the story of an alcoholics struggle with her sobriety whilst being the target of someone’s revenge.

This was a really good story line with some great twists, I kept thinking that I had it all worked out and then something else would happen and I would completely change my mind!

As Astris is a recovering alcoholic she struggles to remember parts of her past which just adds to the suspense and makes it more of a roller coaster read.

My only two minor gripes where that I thought the romance was very downplayed, they met and then that was it, they were dating…but its not essential to the story so it doesn’t detract from it at all, I just personally love a proper bit of romance. I also did find it hard to care about the main character as she just seemed so whiny but that rectifies its self through the story when you get more back ground as you see that she hasn’t had it easy.

Thanks to Anne Carter, Bantam Press & Net Galley for the copy in exchange for review.

About the Author:

Lesley Kara is an alumna of the Faber Academy ‘Writing a Novel’ course.

She grew up in Essex and now lives with her family on the North Essex coast. Lesley has been a teacher and worked as a bookseller.

Her first novel, The Rumour, was a Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller. The Rumour has been optioned for TV (Cuba Pictures) and has sold in 15 territories to date.

Posted in Thriller

Helen Fields

A former barrister, Helen now writes the breath taking, Scottish set crime series – D.I.Callanach and D.I. Ava Turner about a former member of Interpol, Luc Callanah, who is now working for the Major Investigations Team of Police Scotland with Ava Turner. Her debut novel Perfect Remains is an Amazon best seller. Her next book ‘Perfect Kill’ is due out on 6 February 2020 and I have been fortune enough to gain an advanced copy (see below for review). She currently commutes between Hampshire, Scotland and California, and lives with her husband and three children. She can be found on twitter @Helen_Fields

The DI Callanach series can be read as standalone novels as the cases are new in each one, it is purely character development that ties the books together. Having said that once you have read one you will want to read them all as they are enthralling reads.

Perfect Remains

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A killer who wants authorities to believe that the woman he has kidnapped is dead goes to great lengths to convince them, leaving her her teeth and a fragment of clothing burning on a remote highland mountain. French Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has just transferred to Edinburgh, trying to escape his past with Interpol, lands himself in the middle of of a murder investigation with a twist he could never imagine.

This story will chill you to the bone. With a gripping story line, likeable characters (with the exception of the murderer obviously!) and unpredictable twists whats not to love?

I do feel i t is important to mention that it is very graphic and so will not be to everyone’s tastes.

Perfect Prey

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The second DI Callanach instalment. In a crowd of thousands, a charity worker is murdered and no one saw his attacker. Then the body of a primary school teacher is found in a dumpster then around the city, graffitied on buildings, words appear describing each victim. It’s only when they realise the words are appearing before rather than after the murders, that DI Callanach and DI Turner understand the killer is announcing his next victim…

This series has me hooked but is not for the faint heated. I finished this booked within days and immediately ordered the third! I Love that the twists and turns aren’t your standard thriller twists that can be guess from the start and that there are realist relationships through out.

Perfect Death

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible – engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it’s too late. DCI Turner also has to come to turns with the apparent suicide of her former boss and mentor, can she prove it was a set up with out tarnishing his legacy?

As I was a late comer to the party I was able to read this straight after the second book and I am definitely addicted to this series! The story lines keep your mind turning and the sexual tension between the two lead characters just makes you want to scream at the to get it on already!

Perfect Silence

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Dolls cut from the flesh of victims, a series of drug-users are brutally branded with the letter Z slashed into their foreheads, is this the work of the same assailant?

The scenes are graphic and grotesque but the writing and plots are brilliant and even manages to provide a will they-won’t they love story along side! This really is my all time favourite detective thriller series.

Perfect Crime

⭐⭐⭐⭐

What appear to be a string of suicides turn out to be carefully curated deaths by a psychopathic killer a lot closer to Callanach and Turner than they know.

I dearly love these series but I feel like the ending was really rushed, it barely mentions what happens after the explosion, which would have been perfect for Luc and Ava to sort things but but yet again they haven’t got together, probably so that there is enough for another book! But I will read the next one and the crimes are always very well described and have twist that you don’t see coming, Field’s imagination is incredible!

Perfect Kill

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

DI Luc Callanach is in Paris investigating an illegal organ harvesting ring and trying to mend bridges with his former Interpol college. At the same time, DCI Ava Turner is in Scotland, trying to cope with, a missing persons investigation, several murders that appear to be linked to people trafficking, relationship issues and some devastating news from her best friend. Both cases seem separate until a photograph of DCI Turners missing person turns up on French soil.

This was another great page turner from Fields, I devoured it in a matter of hours and am already hungry for the next instalment. It opened my eyes to many things including the side of France that doesn’t pop into your head when you imagine Paris.

I especially loved following the development of DI Lively’s character in this book as in the first few novels he was a really odious man but in this book, you see another side to him, one that you makes you understand that there is two sides to every story. His dry humour, quick comments and raw emotion for the victims is a very welcome relief as the majority of book is very intense.

The whole series and especially this book are not for the faint hearted, the descriptions are gruesome and the way some of the victims are treated leaves you with that sick feeling in your stomach, hoping that this doesn’t happen in real life but knowing that deep down it probably does.

Having read all the prior novels in this series I was so excited to get this as an ARC and it has not disappointed.

Thank you NetGalley and Avon Books for the copy in exchange for an honest review.